Lost in the dunes of Arrakis and emerged with your mind widened and your heart racing? Ah, Frank Herbert’s “Dune” does have that effect, doesn’t it? But don’t fret, my fellow spacefarer. When you’ve wandered the sandy depths of a universe like “Dune”, where else can you turn for such an intoxicating blend of political intrigue, epic world-building, and philosophical rumination? Fear not, I have braved the interstellar wilds of literature and compiled an exquisite list of reads that echo the grandeur and depth of Herbert’s masterpiece, and can surely be considered some of the best books like Dune.

From tales of humanity’s resurrection to narratives of unsuspecting young heroes, these books will whisk you away on a journey across alien landscapes and through complex socio-political mazes. They’ll tantalize you with themes of evolution, survival, and the price of power. So, strap yourself in, engage thrusters, and prepare for a literary ride that traverses the cosmos!

Here are the best books like Dune by Frank Herbert…


Dawn by Octavia Butler

Wake up to a world where humans have teetered on the brink of extinction and have been yanked back from the precipice by an alien race. This is “Dawn” by Octavia E. Butler, the first in her Xenogenesis series. Echoing “Dune,” Butler’s “Dawn” traverses similar thematic terrain, deeply exploring adaptation, survival, and the complexity of coexistence.

The protagonist, Lilith Iyapo, is chosen to revive the human race on Earth, but the cost of this second chance may be more than she’s prepared to pay. Here, you’ll find the same exploration of what it truly means to be human, reminiscent of the struggles faced by Paul Atreides in his ascension to power.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

While it may not transport you to the spice-rich deserts of an alien planet, “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card does offer a complex blend of strategy, survival, and ethical quandaries that would satiate any “Dune” devotee. Meet young Ender Wiggin, a boy who is humanity’s last hope against the formidable insectoid alien race.

Much like Paul Atreides, Ender is burdened with the hefty weight of humanity’s fate, catapulting him into an arena of conflict and moral dilemmas. Orson Scott Card deftly paves the way for a thought-provoking exploration of power, manipulation, and the inherent price of victory. If you reveled in the multi-layered universe of “Dune,” this classic military science fiction is not one to miss.

Hyperion by Dan Simmons

Prepare for a pilgrimage like no other with Dan Simmons’ “Hyperion.” This multi-narrative saga stands toe-to-toe with “Dune” in terms of complex world-building and themes of religion, politics, and time. In a distant future, seven pilgrims journey to the Time Tombs on the planet Hyperion, each with their own heartbreaking, thrilling stories to tell.

Like Herbert’s masterpiece, “Hyperion” transcends the boundaries of typical science fiction, infusing elements of philosophy, poetry, and even a dash of horror into its layered narrative. Ready for a literary voyage that’s sure to satiate your “Dune”-inspired cravings? Look no further.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

If you reveled in the socio-political intrigue and the transformative journey of Paul Atreides in “Dune,” then Pierce Brown’s “Red Rising” might just be your next literary obsession. This tale spins around Darrow, a miner on Mars who discovers his life is built on a bedrock of lies.

It’s a tale of revolt, class warfare, and the brutality of power, where the line between heroes and villains is as thin as the Martian atmosphere. “Red Rising” doesn’t shy away from the darker side of ambition and rebellion, making it a worthy counterpart to the themes explored in “Dune.”

The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu

The universe is a vast, complex puzzle, and “The Three-Body Problem” by Cixin Liu is here to remind us just how wonderfully intricate it can be. This Hugo Award-winning novel doesn’t just invite you to the table of astrophysics and philosophy – it demands you take a seat.

Set against the backdrop of China’s Cultural Revolution, this hard sci-fi masterpiece involves a secret military project, contact with alien civilization, and, you guessed it, a three-body problem. Much like “Dune,” Liu’s work delves into the intersections of politics, science, and the unknown, creating an experience that’s as thought-provoking as it is exciting.

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin

Boldly tackling topics of gender, duality, and social norms, “The Left Hand of Darkness” by Ursula K. Le Guin is a richly woven tapestry of sociocultural exploration and introspective journey. Le Guin’s magnum opus introduces you to the icy world of Gethen, where its inhabitants possess the ability to change their sex.

As in “Dune,” themes of adaptability and understanding in the face of the unfamiliar are rife, and readers will appreciate the delicate balance between sociopolitical critique and engaging narrative that Le Guin strikes.

Word of Light by Roger Zelazny

Buckle up for an intoxicating blend of mythology, technology, and philosophy in Roger Zelazny’s “Lord of Light.” In a narrative that challenges the very nature of divinity, Zelazny introduces a world where men and women have ascended to godhood using advanced technology, but one among them, the Buddha-like Sam, rebels against the status quo.

As with “Dune,” “Lord of Light” deeply explores themes of power, rebellion, and the consequences of playing god. Its world is richly detailed, its characters strikingly complex, and its themes potent and thought-provoking.

The Best of All Possible Worlds by Karen Lord

Dive into the complexities of culture and relationships in a post-genocide society with Karen Lord’s “The Best of All Possible Worlds.” The story unfolds in a universe where a dwindling alien race, the Sadiri, seeks refuge and survival by connecting with their distant human relatives. In a quest to find potential mates and preserve their unique heritage, they form an unexpected bond with a biotechnician, who becomes the lynchpin to their survival.

The book takes on a deeply anthropological and introspective approach, similar to “Dune,” as it explores concepts of home, heritage, and the idea of belonging amidst loss and change. It’s a novel that’s less about the spectacle of sci-fi and more about the human (and alien) capacity to adapt, recover, and grow.

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

“Ancillary Justice” by Ann Leckie is a challenging yet rewarding read that delves deep into the nuances of identity, consciousness, and morality. Breq, the protagonist, was once Justice of Toren – a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence linking thousands of corpse soldiers under the Radch empire’s control. Now, she’s just a fragment of her former self, a lone entity in a single human body seeking revenge.

This book takes a fascinating perspective on gender, treating it as a non-issue in language and societal roles, adding an extra layer of depth to the novel. Much like “Dune,” this isn’t light reading. Its themes demand contemplation and its narrative requires your full attention. But if you’re a “Dune” fan, you’re no stranger to complexity.

Jaran by Kate Elliott

Kate Elliott’s “Jaran” is a sweeping tale of culture clash, forbidden love, and personal discovery set against the backdrop of an alien planet. Our protagonist, Tess, is an earl’s sister and a duke’s granddaughter, but in the vast plains of Rhui, among the nomadic jaran people, she’s just another human learning their ways.

As she becomes more entrenched in jaran culture, she finds herself embroiled in a plot that spans planets. Much like Paul Atreides in “Dune,” Tess is a character out of her element, forced to adapt to a strange new world. But where “Dune” was about conquest, “Jaran” is about co-existence, making it an intriguing counterpoint to Herbert’s classic.

Foundation by Isaac Asimov

Isaac Asimov’s “Foundation” is less a book and more a monument in the landscape of science fiction. It shares a lot of common ground with “Dune,” particularly in its exploration of empire, civilization, and the cyclical nature of history. The premise is intriguing: Hari Seldon, a ‘psychohistorian,’ predicts the fall of the Galactic Empire and crafts a plan to reduce the ensuing dark age from 30,000 years to a mere millennium.

What follows is a sprawling saga that grapples with the intricacies of power, knowledge, and the vast, inscrutable machine that is human civilization. If the sweeping scope and philosophical undertones of “Dune” were your bread and butter, then “Foundation” is a veritable feast.


Why is “Dune” so popular?

“Dune” is hailed as a masterpiece not only for its gripping narrative but also for its richly layered themes. Its enduring popularity is attributed to Frank Herbert’s skillful blend of political intrigue, complex character dynamics, world-building, and philosophy. The depth of “Dune” allows for various interpretations, and its themes resonate across generations. It strikes a delicate balance between grand-scale space opera and introspective character study, a trait mirrored in many of the books on this list.

What makes “Dune” unique in the science fiction genre?

“Dune” set a precedent in the genre by marrying hard science fiction with a richly woven tapestry of sociopolitical and ecological concerns, effectively creating a universe that feels incredibly real and complex. Its depth, scope, and timeless themes continue to inspire modern authors. The books listed here, while unique in their own right, reflect some of “Dune’s” profound influence on the genre.


As we pull away from this interstellar journey, it’s hard not to look back at the constellation of worlds we’ve visited. From the intricate socio-political webs of alien societies to the profound questions of identity and power, these novels stand as brilliant beacons for any reader yearning for more after their trek through the sands of “Dune.”

Each book on this list presents a universe as captivating and thought-provoking as Herbert’s masterpiece, but remember, they each offer their own unique voyages. Whether it’s a tale of humanity’s resurrection, the journey of a lone AI seeking justice, or a nomadic tribe resisting invaders, there is a world waiting to captivate your imagination.

So, go ahead, delve into these stories. Walk the paths these characters tread, explore the corners of these vast universes, challenge your thoughts with the themes they present. Be like the sandworms of Arrakis—unafraid to burrow deep, to explore, to uncover the spice of new worlds and new ideas. In the end, these “Dune”-like books promise an adventure that’s out of this world. Safe travels, fellow spacefarers!


If you enjoyed this reading list of the best books like Dune, you may also want to check out our list of the best science fiction books of all time.