As part of our new ‘best books like’ range, we’re kicking off with the exceptionally popular Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. So if you’ve just finished it and are now looking for the best books like Gone Girl – we’ve got you covered!

Gone Girl is a psychological thriller novel written by Gillian Flynn and published in 2012. The novel became a popular and commercial success, and it has sold over 2 million copies in the United States alone. It was also a bestseller in the United Kingdom and has been translated into over 30 languages.

The story follows the lives of Nick and Amy Dunne, a couple living in Missouri. On their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy disappears and Nick becomes the prime suspect in her disappearance. The novel alternates between two narrators: Nick, who is telling the story from the present day as he is being investigated for Amy’s disappearance, and Amy, who is recounting their relationship from the past through a series of diary entries.

As the investigation into Amy’s disappearance progresses, the reader learns more about the couple’s troubled relationship and the secrets and lies that have been at the heart of their marriage. The novel is known for its twists and turns and its depiction of the complexities of relationships and the dark side of human nature.

Gone Girl became extremely popular, in part due to its twists and turns and the suspenseful narrative. It was also well-received by critics, who praised Flynn’s writing and the clever structure of the novel.

In 2014, a film adaptation of Gone Girl was released, directed by David Fincher and starring Ben Affleck as Nick and Rosamund Pike as Amy. The film was a commercial and critical success and Pike was nominated for an Academy Award for her performance.

Here are the best books like Gone Girl…


The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins, is a psychological thriller that has been described as being perfect for fans of Gone Girl. The novel follows Rachel, a commuter who takes the same train every day and becomes interested in a couple she sees from the window of her train. One day, she witnesses something shocking and decides to go to the police with the information.

However, as the investigation progresses, Rachel becomes deeply involved in the lives of those involved and must question whether or not she has done more harm than good. The novel is known for its twists and turns and its exploration of the complexities of relationships and the dark side of human nature, similar to themes found in Gone Girl.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

The Couple Next Door, by Shari Lapena, is a domestic suspense novel that has been described as having fast-paced twists and an engrossing storyline. The novel follows the lives of Anne and Marco Conti, a young couple with a baby, who become suspects in a crime that is committed at a dinner party they attend. As the investigation progresses, it is revealed that both Anne and Marco are keeping secrets from each other and that the truth about the crime is much more complicated than it initially appeared.

This novel, like Gone Girl, explores themes of deception, duplicity, and the secrets that can exist within relationships. It has been praised for its ability to keep readers on the edge of their seats with its suspenseful and twisty narrative.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty, is a novel about the dangerous little lies that people tell themselves in order to survive. The novel follows the lives of Madeline, Celeste, and Jane, three women who are at different crossroads in their lives but end up at the same shocking place. The story is set against the backdrop of a murder investigation and explores themes of ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, and the secrets and lies that can exist within relationships.

Similar to Gone Girl, Big Little Lies is a psychological thriller that delves into the complexities of human nature and the ways in which people can deceive and mislead one another. It has been praised for its engaging narrative and its portrayal of complex, multidimensional characters.

In The Woods by Tara French

In The Woods, by Tara French, is a mystery novel that follows the story of Detective Rob Ryan and his partner, Detective Cassie Maddox, as they investigate a case that is eerily similar to a previous unsolved mystery from Ryan’s past. The novel is set in a small Dublin suburb and follows the detectives as they try to uncover the truth about the murder of a young girl and the disappearance of three children twenty years earlier.

Like Gone Girl, In The Woods is a psychological thriller that explores themes of secrets and lies, and the ways in which the past can come back to haunt us. It has been praised for its atmospheric writing and its complex, multilayered plot. It is a bestselling debut that has sold over a million copies and has been described as “required reading” by The New York Times.

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

The Woman in the Window, by A.J. Finn, is a psychological thriller that has been described as reminiscent of the works of Gillian Flynn and Alfred Hitchcock. The novel follows Anna Fox, an agoraphobic woman who spends her days drinking and spying on her neighbors from the window of her New York City home. When the perfect Russell family moves in across the street, Anna believes she witnesses a crime and her world begins to unravel as shocking secrets are revealed.

Like Gone Girl, The Woman in the Window is a suspenseful novel that explores themes of deception, manipulation, and the blurred lines between reality and illusion. It has been praised for its twisty plot and its portrayal of a complex and unreliable narrator. The novel has been published in over 40 languages and is being adapted into a film by Fox.

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

The Silent Wife, by A.S.A. Harrison, is a psychological thriller that is perfect for readers who enjoyed Gone Girl. The novel follows the story of Jodi and Todd, a couple whose marriage is on the verge of collapsing. Told in alternating voices, the novel explores the complexities of the couple’s relationship and the secrets and lies that have driven them apart. As Jodi and Todd head towards a fateful confrontation, the novel delves into themes of infidelity, denial, and the ways in which people can be driven to desperate measures.

Expertly plotted and reminiscent of Gone Girl, The Silent Wife is a suspenseful and thought-provoking novel that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end. It has been praised for its compelling characters and its engaging narrative and is soon to be adapted into a major motion picture.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects, by Gillian Flynn, is a psychological thriller that is perfect for readers who enjoyed Gone Girl (given that it is written by the same author!). The novel follows the story of Camille Preaker, a reporter who returns to her hometown to cover the murders of two young girls. As she investigates the case, Camille becomes increasingly involved with the victims and begins to identify with them.

The novel delves into the psychological complexities of its characters and explores themes of family, trauma, and the dark side of human nature. It has been praised for its complex and unreliable narrator and its twisty plot. As the bestselling author of Gone Girl, Flynn is known for her ability to create suspenseful and thought-provoking stories that keep readers on the edge of their seats.

You by Caroline Kepnes

You, by Caroline Kepnes, is a psychological thriller that is perfect for readers who enjoyed Gone Girl. The novel follows the story of Joe Goldberg, a bookstore employee who becomes obsessed with a beautiful, aspiring writer named Guinevere Beck. As he becomes increasingly involved in Beck’s life, Joe begins to manipulate and control her, going to great lengths to ensure that she is in his waiting arms.

The novel is a chilling exploration of stalking and manipulation and is set in the hyper-connected digital age. It has been praised for its compelling characters, its razor-sharp prose, and its engaging plot, which has been compared to Gone Girl, American Psycho, and Misery. You is a compulsively readable page-turner that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient, by Alex Michaelides, is a psychological thriller that is definitely one of the best books like Gone Girl. The novel follows the story of Alicia Berenson, a famous painter who shoots her husband in the face and then remains completely silent about the crime. As she is confined to a secure forensic unit in North London, a criminal psychotherapist named Theo Faber becomes determined to unravel the mystery of her motive and get her to talk.

The novel is a shocking exploration of violence, obsession, and the power of silence and has been described as a mix of Hitchcockian suspense, Agatha Christie plotting, and Greek tragedy. It has received praise for its compelling characters, its twisty plot, and its immersive storytelling and is already being developed into a Hollywood film.

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

Luckiest Girl Alive, by Jessica Knoll, is a novel that is sure to appeal to readers who enjoyed Gone Girl. Like Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive is a psychological thriller that follows the story of a young woman with a troubled past who is struggling to maintain the appearance of a perfect life. The novel is told from the perspective of Ani FaNelli, a woman who has worked hard to rebuild her life after a public humiliation in her teenage years. Despite her glamorous job and wealthy fiancé, Ani is hiding a dark secret from her past that threatens to ruin everything she has worked for.

As the secrets of her past are slowly revealed, Ani must confront the pain and trauma of her past in order to move forward. The novel is a compelling exploration of the pressure that women face to “have it all” and the lengths that they will go to in order to maintain the appearance of a perfect life. It is a gripping page-turner that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end. If you enjoyed Gone Girl for its twists, its exploration of troubled relationships, and its immersive storytelling, then you will definitely enjoy Luckiest Girl Alive.

The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

The Housemaid, by Freida McFadden, is a USA Today bestseller that is sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats. This psychological thriller is filled with twists and turns that will leave you guessing until the very end. It’s a great choice for fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell, and Verity, and it’s perfect for those who enjoyed Gone Girl.

In The Housemaid, the protagonist, a young woman named Lila, takes a job as a housekeeper for the Winchester family. At first, everything seems normal. Lila cleans the house, picks up the Winchester’s daughter from school, and cooks delicious meals for the family. But as she gets to know the Winchesters, she begins to notice strange behaviors and lies. Despite her reservations, Lila becomes more and more drawn to Andrew and starts to imagine what it would be like to live Nina’s life – with a walk-in closet, a fancy car, and a seemingly perfect husband. She starts to worry that the Winchesters know more about her past than they let on, and she fears for her safety.

The Housemaid is a heart-pounding thriller that explores the dark secrets that people keep and the lengths they’ll go to protect them. It’s a must-read for anyone who enjoys fast-paced, suspenseful novels with shocking twists.

Verity by Colleen Hoover

The discovery of Verity Crawford’s unfinished autobiography reveals shocking secrets that could change everything for struggling writer Lowen Ashleigh. As she becomes more involved with Verity’s husband Jeremy and begins to have feelings for him, Lowen must decide whether to keep the manuscript hidden or use its contents to her own advantage.

But as Lowen delves deeper into the Crawford family’s past, she realizes that the truth may be more complicated than she initially thought. With twists and turns at every turn, Colleen Hoover’s Verity will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.

Verity is a perfect choice for readers who enjoyed Gone Girl for its psychological thrills and unreliable narrators. Like Gone Girl, Verity explores the manipulation and deceit that can occur within relationships and the lengths one will go to protect their own interests. With complex characters and a gripping plot, Verity is a must-read for fans of psychological thrillers.

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Then She Was Gone is a powerful and emotional novel that explores the devastating aftermath of a loved one’s disappearance. As Laurel tries to move on with her life, she is faced with the realization that the mystery surrounding Ellie’s disappearance may never truly be solved. The novel’s complex and well-developed characters and twisting plot will keep readers on the edge of their seats, making it a perfect choice for fans of Gone Girl who enjoy psychological thrillers with a heart-wrenching emotional depth.

In addition to its gripping plot, Then She Was Gone also delves into the complexities of family relationships and the lasting impact of grief and loss. As Laurel struggles to come to terms with her daughter’s disappearance, she must also navigate the challenges of raising her two remaining children and rebuilding her relationships with those around her. The novel’s exploration of the ways in which loss can shape and define a person’s life makes it a poignant and thought-provoking read for anyone who has experienced the pain of loss.


If you enjoyed this reading list of the best books like Gone Girl, you may also want to check out our list of the best psychological thrillers.